It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How to start using RTC SCM for Dummies

Duzgun Aral (1122) | asked Feb 20 '13, 6:24 p.m.
Hi,
I've been looking for basic information but after spending a lot of time on the jazz.net forum I really couldn't find it. All the information here about SCM is either Eclipse based, or about the JUnit example based or theoretic explanations of terms. Below is a scenario that I just would like to test on my system to get used to using RTC SCM but I got stuck. If anyone could explain it I'm sure many people will benefit from it. 
I am a Configuration Manager. A project manager comes to me and tells me that he created a Project Area on the Jazz Server and she wants me to take care of the SCM part. Server and RTC Client versions are 4.0.1. Operating Systems are Windows. I am a member of Project with Developer license. 
I have on my hard drive a folder that has sub-folders and files. The sub-folders under the root folder are for each component in the software. I am using the component word here as a software component part of the software not as the RTC SCM Component, which probably is the same. These component folders are NOT eclipse projects or even VS projects. They are just good old code written in a regular text editor, on the file system as plain files. There will be 3 developers working on this project. 
The project workflow will be:
1. Develop towards Version 1
2. Integrate 3 developers' work
3. Test 
4. Build
5. Beta Release
6. Release Version 1
7. Start development towards Version 2 similar to Version 1
8. Start bug fixing for Version 1 and deliver these to a release called Version 1.1 and to Version 2. 

I need to create Streams, Components, Workspaces, Flow Diagrams, Baselines, Snapshots, Sandboxes and I need to Add the Files to the repository.
Where do I start?